Historical Beats

Dance Classics In The Mix

A Year In The Mix : 1987 : Part 2

Download Mix

Track list

  1.  Janet Jackson - Nasty (Cool Summer Mix Part 1)
  2.  Alexander O'Neal - Fake (Extended Version)
  3.  Herb Alpert - Diamonds (Dance Mix)
  4.  Mandy Smith - I Just Can't Wait (The Cool & Breezy Jazz Version)
  5.  ABC - The Night You Murdered Love (The Sheer-Chic Mix by Pete Hammond & Pete Waterman)
  6.  Living In A Box - Living In A Box (Dance Mix by Arthur Baker)
  7.  Herb Alpert - Keep Your Eye On Me (Extended Version)
  8.  Alexander O'Neal - Criticize (Remix + Ben Liebrand Remix)
  9.  New Order - True Faith (Shep Pettibone Remix) 
10.  New Order - Bizarre Love Triangle (Shep Pettibone Remix) 
11.  Janet Jackson - The Pleasure Principal (Long Vocal Mix By Shep Pettibone)

Historical Facts

Herb Alpert played the sax on the Cool Summer Mixes of 'Nasty' 

Alexander O'Neal was an original member of the The Time, along with Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis who produced 'Fake' and 'Criticize'

Janet Jackson sang on Herb Alpert's 'Diamonds'. The track, along with Keep Your Eye On Me, was produced by long-time Jackson producers, Jam and Lewis  

I could write a book on Mandy Smith but instead just link to here

I Just Can't Wait was produced by Stock, Aitken and Waterman before they got overly commercial, and was a huge hit in Ibiza.

'The Night You Murdered Love' was co-produced by Bernard Edwards, co-founder of Chic. Hence the Sheer-Chic tribute mix. 

Shep Pettibone was one of the first to create multiple versions or alternate productions/interpretations of the same song (ie. remix). He was a huge influence on the evolution of dance music during the 80s.