Historical Beats

Dance Classics In The Mix

A Year In The Mix : 1987 : Part 4

Download Mix  (right click and 'Save as')


Track list

  1.  Sybil - My Love Is Guaranteed (Red Ink Mix Part 1 by Pete Waterman & Phil Harding)
  2.  Jellybean featuring Elisa Fiorillo - Who Found Who (Club Mix)
  3.  Janet Jackson - Control (Extended Version)
  4.  First Choice - Let No Man Put Asunder (Extended Vocal Version by Frankie Knuckles)
  5.  Wally Jump Jr. & The Criminal Element - Private Party (Another Private Party Mix by Junior Vasquez)
  6.  Mel & Kim - Respectable (Club Mix)
  7.  Bros - I Owe You Nothing (The Shep Pettibone Mix)
  8.  Depeche Mode - Behind The Wheel (Shep Pettibone Remix)
  9.  Five Star - The Slightest Touch (The Pettibone Touch Remix)  
10.  ABC - When Smokey Sings (The Miami Mix by Phil Harding)  
11.  Pet Shop Boys - It's A Sin (Phil Harding Latin Vocal Mix)

Historical Facts

  • Phil Harding is featured prominently in this mix. You can find an interesting article on how he created his mixes here 
  • Let No Man Put Asunder was originally released in 1977. The more familiar line 'It's Not Over' was used for various covers
  • Kim Appleby from Mel & Kim is the ex-girlfirend of ex-Bros bassist, Craig Logan 
  • Craig Logan is now head of RCA Records
  • 'When Smokey Sings' is a tribute to Smokey Robinson