Historical Beats

Dance Classics In The Mix

A Year In The Mix : 1988 : Part 1

Download Mix (right click and 'Save as')

Track List

  1.  Coldcut - Stop This Crazy Thing
  2.  Milli Vanilli - Girl You Know It's True (N.Y.C. Subway Mix)
  3.  Neneh Cherry - Buffalo Stance (Extended Remix)
  4.  Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock - It Takes Two
  5.  Bomb The Bass - Beat Dis (Extended Dis)
  6.  Simon Harris - Bass (How Low Can You Go) (Bass Below Zero Mix)
  7.  Public Enemy - Bring The Noise
  8.  Bomb The Bass featuring Merlin - Megablast (Hip Hop On Precinct 13)
  9.  Bomb The Bass featuring Merlin - Megablast (Rap Version) 
10.  Roxanne Shante - Go On Girl 
11.  Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock - Get On The Dance Floor (Ben Liebrand Remix)
12.  Black Riot - A Day In The Life
13.  Beatmasters featuring P.P. Arnold - Burn It Up 
14.  Coldcut featuring Yazz and the Plastic People - Doctorin' The House (Acid Shut Up Dub + Vocal Mix) 
15.  S'Express - Superfly Guy (Extended Mix)

Historical Facts

  • Incase you know nothing about the Milli Vanilli scandal, you can read all about it here 
  • 'Buffalo Stance' was produced by Tim Simenon of Bomb The Bass
  • 'Megablast' uses samples from the score of John Carpenter's 1976 movie, 'Assault on Precinct 13'  
  • Black Riot is one of many pseudonyms for Todd Terry
  • P.P. Arnold also sung on KLF's '3am Eternal'
  • The group name 'Yazz and the Plastic People' was changed to 'Yazz and the Plastic Population' for the release of 'The Only Way Is Up'