Historical Beats

Dance Classics In The Mix

A Year In The Mix : 1988 : Part 6

Download Mix (right click and 'Save as')

Track list

  1.  Bill Withers - Lovely Day (Sunshine Mix by Ben Liebrand)
  2.  Matt Bianco - Don't Blame It On The Girl (Extended Mix by Phil Harding)
  3.  The Pasadenas - Tribute (Right On) (The Screaming Cat Mix)  
  4.  The Pasadenas - Riding On A Train (Extended Version)
  5.  Electra - Jibaro (English Version) 
  6.  Taja Sevelle - Love Is Contagious (Ben Liebrand Remix)
  7.  Narada Michael Walden - Divine Emotions (Remix by Shep Pettibone)
  8.  Will Downing - A Love Supreme (Jazz In The House Remix by Arthur Baker)
  9.  Matt Bianco - Wap-Bam-Boogie (Phil Harding Mix)  
10.  Natalie Cole - Pink Cadillac (Club Vocal Mix by Clivilles & Cole) 
11.  Brass Construction - Movin' 88 (Let's All Chant Mix by Phil Harding)
12.  New Order - Blue Monday 1988

Historical Facts

  • 'Lovely Day' was originally released in 1977
  • Emilio Estefan produced 'Don't Blame It OnThe Girl'
  • Paul Oakenfold was one of the main men behind Electra, and this was his first release.  
  • Narada Michael Walden was a very successful producer, producing many of Whitney's biggest hits
  • 'A Love Supreme' is a version of the 1965 jazz track by John Coltrane 
  • 'Pink Cadillac' is a remake of the Bruce Springsteen song
  • 'Movin'' was originally released in 1976