Historical Beats

Dance Classics In The Mix

A Year In The Mix : 1989 : The Deep End Mix

Download Mix (right click and 'Save as')


 Track list

  1.  Sheena Easton - 101 (Def House Mix by David Morales)
  2.  Electribe 101 - Talking With Myself  (Frankie Knuckles Mix)
  3.  Electribe 101 - Tell Me When The Fever Ended (After Dark Mix by Larry Heard) 
  4.  Ten City - Devotion (Marshall's Club Mix)
  5.  Ten City - That's The Way Love Is (Deep House Mix by Steve 'Silk' Hurley) 
  6.  Humanoid feat. Sharon Benson - Tonight (Radical Mix)
  7.  The Beloved - The Sun Rising (Norty's Spago Mix by Tony Humphries)
  8.  Reese & Santonio - Rock To The Beat
  9.  Richie Rich - Salsa House  (Silver On Black Remix)
10.  Richie Rich - You Used To Salsa
11.  Jomanda - Don't You Want My Love
12.  Jomanda - Make My Body Rock (Feel It) (The Basic Mix)
13.  The Beatmasters feat. P.P. Arnold - Make me Feel
14.  Frankie Knuckles Presents Satoshi Tomiie featuring Robert Owens - Tears (Classic Vocal)

Historical Facts 

  • '101' was produced by Prince. His trademark sound is more obvious in the original mix of this track
  • The guys behind Electribe 101 also formed Groove Corporation (aka G Corp) and have been performing remixes under this name since 1989
  • Larry Heard is the man behind Fingers Inc
  • Brian Dougans is the guy behind Humanoid. Garry Cobain did the vocal arrangement on  'Tonight'.  Although they met at college in 1985, this was their first collaboration before they went on to form The Future Sound Of London.
  • The Beloved got into trouble over the vocal sample used on 'The Sun Rising' since it was not properly credited. It's called 'O Euchari' by Emily Van Evera. It also appears on Orbital's Belfast. Check out the sample here 
  • Reese & Santonio are respectively Kevin Saunderson and Santonio Echols
  • 'You Used To Salsa' features the vocals of Xavier Gold from Ralphi Rosario's 'You Used to Hold Me'
  • 'Don't You Want My Love' was famously sampled by Felix on 'Don't You Want Me